Prayer Flags

prayer flags at the kunzum la in spiti…prayer flags are believed to have originated with the bon religion predating buddhism in tibet…

Traditionally, prayer flags come in sets of five: one in each of five colours. The five colours are arranged from left to right in a specific order: blue, white, red, green, and yellow. The five colours represent the five elements… and the Five Pure Lights. Different elements are associated with different colours for specific traditions, purposes and sadhana. Blue symbolises the sky and space, white symbolizes the air and wind, red symbolizes fire, green symbolizes water, and yellow symbolizes earth.

According to Traditional Tibetan medicine, health and harmony are produced through the balance of the five elements.

for more on prayer flags…please look up wiki:)


3 comments on “Prayer Flags

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s